## **COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/1835**

#### of 6 October 2021

# appointing two alternate members, proposed by the Kingdom of Spain, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (¹),

Having regard to the proposals from the Spanish Government,

#### Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly,
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025,
- (3) Two alternate members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the end of the national mandate on the basis of which Mr Ignacio Jesús AGUADO CRESPO was proposed for appointment and the resignation of Mr Mikel IRUJO AMEZAGA,
- (4) The Spanish Government has proposed the following representatives of regional bodies who are politically accountable to an elected assembly as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Mr José Francisco HERRERA ANTONAYA, Director-General de Cooperación con el Estado y la Unión Europea, Comunidad de Madrid (Director-General for Cooperation with the State and the European Union, Community of Madrid) and Mr Sergio PÉREZ GARCÍA, Director-General de Acción Exterior, Gobierno de Navarra (Director-General for Foreign Affairs Government of Navarra),

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

### Article 1

The following representatives of regional bodies who are politically accountable to an elected assembly are hereby appointed as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025:

- Mr José Francisco HERRERA ANTONAYA, Director-General de Cooperación con el Estado y la Unión Europea, Comunidad de Madrid (Director-General for Cooperation with the State and the European Union, Community of Madrid);
- Mr Sergio PÉREZ GARCÍA, Director-General de Acción Exterior, Gobierno de Navarra (Director-General for Foreign Affairs, Government of Navarra).

<sup>(1)</sup> OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

<sup>(2)</sup> Council Decision (EU) 2019/2157 of 10 December 2019 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78).

# Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 6 October 2021.

For the Council The President A. VIZJAK